City Council

Council Members

2022 Common Council Committees

(General Admin Duties, Finance, Contract Negotiations, Grants, Personnel)
Earl Gage (Chair), Tim Gregory, Vaughn Groce, Sharon Kellum

Public Safety
(Police Affairs, Fire Services, Office of Emergency Management, Ambulance)
Robert Davis (Chair), Vaughn Groce, Earl Gage, Gail Slaughter

Public Works
(Water/Sewer Departments, Streets Department)
Vaughn Groce (Chair), Timothy Gregory, Earl Gage, Ceil Smith

Neighborhood Initiatives / Parks and Recreation
(Recreation, City Pool, Library, Clean Communities, Parks)
Gail Slaughter (Chair), Sharon Kellum, Sharen Cline, Robert Davis

Economic Development / Community Development (ECDC)
(City Property Issues, Capital Projects, Redevelopment, Housing, Planning and Zoning, Main Street Program, Historical Preservation) Ceil Smith (Chair), Tim Gregory, Sharen Cline, Robert Davis

Ordinances / Buildings and Grounds
(Review and Revise City Ordinances, Maintain City Facilities and Grounds)
Sharen Cline (Chair), Gail Slaughter, Ceil Smith, Sharon Kellum

Minutes & Agendas

Please note: the majority of the documents contained on this page are PDFs and may not be readable by Screen Readers as many been scanned in, for example, to display legal signatures. Any resident using a Screen Reader may contact the office to inquire about receiving readable, non-scanned copies.




2015 - 2017




2022 Schedule of City Council Meetings

Council Caucus Meetings

Location: Old County Courthouse – 113 Market St, Salem
Days: 2nd Monday of each month
6:30 PM.  The public is welcome.

January 10
February 14
March 14
April 11
May 9
June 13
July 11
August 8
September 12
October 11 (Tuesday)
November 14
December 12

Regular Common Council Meetings

Location: Old County Courthouse 113 Market St, Salem
Days: 3rd Monday of each month
6:30 PM.  The public is welcome.

January 18 (Tuesday)
February 22 (Tuesday)
March 21
April 18
May 16
June 20
July 18
August 15
September 19 (Cancelled)
October 17
November 21
December 19

All meetings are scheduled to be in person. If conditions exist that require the meetings to be through zoom only, signs will be posted outside the meeting locations and on this website.

Instructions on how to attend through zoom will also be posted.

The aforementioned meeting schedule shall remain in effect until amended by the Common Council. Notice of Special Meetings of the Common Council of the City of Salem shall be forwarded to the South Jersey Times, and Elmer Times which have been designated as the official newspapers of the Common Council, at least 48 hours prior to such meetings being held. Public Notice of any such meetings shall also be posted at the City of Salem Annex Building, 17 New Market Street, at least 48 hours prior to any special meetings being held. All meetings shall be held in accordance with N.J.S.A. 10:4-12 the Open Public Meetings ​