Boards & Committees


Please note: the majority of the documents contained on this page are PDFs and may not be readable by Screen Readers as many been scanned in, for example, to display legal signatures. Any resident using a Screen Reader may contact the office to inquire about receiving readable, non-scanned copies.

Environmental Commission

Mayoral appointed terms – 3 years & expire Dec 31.

2023 – Sharon Kellum
2023 – VACANT
2023 – Ruth Carter
2021 – VACANT
2021 –  VACANT
2022 – Earl Gage
2022 – VACANT

Historic Preservation Commission

Mayoral appointed terms – 3 years & expire Dec 31.
Meetings – 3rd Wednesday @ 7:00 p.m.
17 New Market Street, Salem

Members: (4-year term, expires 12/31)
2023 – Vacant – Class A
2024 – Christopher Davenport – Class B
2023 – Virginia Jared – Class C – Acting Chair
2023 – Sheila Palmer – Class B

Alternates: (2-year term, expires 12/31)
****2023 – Bruce Jo (Alternate #1)
2023 – Sue Jo (Alternate
2024 – Annalisa Klein Moritz (Alternate
Open (Alternate #4)

Board Secretary – Amy Peterson
Legal Counsel – Adam Telsey


City Code for Historical Preservation Comm.

Pursuant to N.J.S.A. 40:55D-107 and City Code Section 130-71, the Historic Preservation Commission consists of 5 members appointed by the Mayor for staggered 4 year terms (except that any member who is also a member of the Planning Board shall have a term that is equal to his term on the Planning Board).  Members are divided into three classes:  Class A- a person who is knowledgeable in building design and construction or architectural history and who may reside outside of the City; Class B – a person who is knowledgeable or has a demonstrated interest in local history and who may reside outside of the City; and those regular members who are not designated as Class A or B shall be designated as Class C members all of whom shall be residents of the City who hold no other City  office, position or employment except for membership on the Planning Board.  There may also be not more than two alternate members appointed by the Mayor for 2 year terms who shall meet the qualifications for Class C members.

Housing Authority

Meets the 4th Thursday of the month at 5pm
(Except Nov & Dec the 3rd Thursday)

Meetings are held in the Community Room of Broadway Towers, 205 Seventh Street, Salem, NJ

The Authority has seven commissioners that serve five year terms. The Common Council appoints five commissioners, the Mayor appoints one commissioner and the State appoints one commissioner.

Terms Expire December 31st.
2023 – Crystal Hallman– Seat 1
2026 – Annalisa Klein Moritz – Seat 2
2025 – Sholanda Townsend – Seat 3
2024 – Cathy Lanard  – Seat 4
2022 – Vacant
2024 – Joyce Lewis – Mayor’s Appointment (Seat #6)
2021 – OPEN – Governor’s Appointment (Seat #7)

City Code for Housing Authority

Pursuant to N.J.S.A. 40A:12A-17 a Municipal Housing Authority shall consist of 7 Members; 5 to be appointed by the Governing Body; 1 by the Mayor; and 1 by the N.J. Commissioner of Community Affairs (a/k/a/ “Governor’s Appointment”). Term is 5 Years; with terms staggered and dates with vacancies filled for the unexpired term. One member may be an officer or employee of the municipality. Members need not be residents.

Public Library

Free Public Library Board of Trustees
Mayoral appointed terms expire Dec 31.
Meetings are each 3rd Thursday at 4:00 pm.
Phone: 856-935-0526

2022 – Mayor Jody Veler (Seat #1)
2022 – Sharon Kellum (Seat #2)
2026 – Betsy Davis (Seat #3)
2024 – Patricia Allen (Seat #4)
2024 – OPEN (Seat #5)
2024 – Janis Crawford (Seat #6)
2025 – Ruth Carter (Seat #7)
2021 – OPEN (Superintendent appointment)
2022 – Sharon Cline, Council Liaison
2024 – Annalissa Klein (Seat #5)

Port Authority

Meetings will be held on the dates listed below at 6:00 pm at 1 New Market Street; Salem, NJ
(April 12, 2021, June 14, 2021, November 8, 2021, January 10, 2022, February 14, 2022)
The City of Salem Municipal Port Authority shall consist of five members to be appointed by the Council.
Terms are for 5 year & expire Jan 31


2024 – Thomas Orsini

Secretary / Treasurer
2021 – Karen Tuthill – 856-935-6380  | 

2023 – James S. Coleman
2026 – Charles Hassler
2025 – Timothy Gregory Jr.
2022 – Open

City Code for Municipal Port Authority

The City of Salem Municipal Port Authority (the “Authority”) was created by a resolution adopted July 12, 1982 by the Mayor and Common Council of the City of Salem (the “City”). The Authority was created to stimulate the economic well-being of its surrounding area; creating employment; attracting industry; and bringing a direct influx of dollars generated by vessels and their cargoes. Its purpose is development and operation of land/water transportation interchange and distribution facilities. It is structured along traditional port authority lines, which enables it to function with private entities in trade, commerce and industry while maintaining and safeguarding the public interest with regards to such activities.

Shade Tree Advisory Board

Mayoral appointed terms – 5 years & expire Dec 31.

2022 – Evelyn Shuman (Seat #1)
Open (Seat #2)
2022 – Betsy Davis (Seat #3)
Open (Seat #4)
Open (Seat #5)
Jody Veler – Advisor


2023 Common Council Committees

(General Admin Duties, Finance, Contract Negotiations, Grants, Personnel)
Earl Gage (Chair), Tim Gregory, Vaughn Groce, Sharon Kellum

Public Safety
(Police Affairs, Fire Services, Office of Emergency Management, Ambulance)
Robert Davis (Chair), Vaughn Groce, Earl Gage, Gail Slaughter

Public Works
(Water/Sewer Departments, Streets Department)
Vaughn Groce (Chair), Timothy Gregory, Earl Gage, Ceil Smith

Economic Development / Community Development (ECDC)
(City Property Issues, Capital Projects, Redevelopment, Housing, Planning and Zoning, Main Street Program, Historical Preservation) Ceil Smith (Chair), Tim Gregory, Sharen Cline, Robert Davis